No. 143 | Campus

Bowman House 

The house on Shell Road has had many roles.

When Morgan Bowman accepted the role of principal in June 1914, he and his wife moved into Old House. Soon after, Old House was destroyed in a blazing fire which claimed no lives. After its demise, the $12,000 insurance collected from the fire was used primarily to build a new principal’s house. It was designed by the architect, Wm. H. Emory, the grandson of former trustee German H. Hunt, and built using stone and bricks salvaged from Old House. In May of 1915, the house was completed and the Bowmans moved in. From 1930 to 1935 when former Headmaster Louis E. “Doc” Lamborn resided in the house, it was commonly known as the Headmaster’s House. When he moved into the stone house on Riding Hall Road, the name of Bowman House was given to the Shell Road residence.

During its lifetime, Bowman House has been faculty apartments, a Lower School dorm—as witnessed by the swing set erected behind the building in 1951, faculty apartments (again) in 1958, and the home for the President of the School in 1972. Since 1980, it has served as the Development Office, now known as the Office of Philanthropy. 

Learn more about McDonogh School's rich history by visiting the archives online.

Visit Archives