No. 118 | Traditions

Faculty Chairs Recognize Excellence

Faculty chairs are the most prestigious honor an educator can earn.

Each year, the leadership at McDonogh recognizes a handful of faculty members for their great teaching as well as a commitment to the McDonogh community by awarding faculty chairs. Established through gifts to the endowment, the chairs are often named for a beloved faculty member and are the most prestigious honor an educator can earn. Each recipient, who is selected by the administrative team, holds the chair for three years and receives a stipend over and above his or her salary. 

Currently, 12 chairs have been established at McDonogh. They are:

  • The Class of 1952 Charles C. Kinard, Sr. Distinguished Teaching Chair
  • The Louis E. “Doc” Lamborn Distinguished Teaching Chair
  • The W. Wright Abbot IV Distinguished Teaching Chair
  • The Howard C. “Dutch” Eyth Teaching Chair
  • The John T. Grega Chair
  • The Douglas M. Kolodny, Ph.D. ’70 Distinguished Teaching Chair
  • The Paul E. Smith Teaching Chair
  • The Raymond B. Oliver ’40 Teaching Chair
  • The Rollins-Luetkemeyer Teaching Chair
  • The Susan Hillis Newton Teaching Chair
  • The Thomas R. Harper ’63 Teaching Chair

Learn more about McDonogh School's rich history by visiting the archives online.

Visit Archives